Old fashioned B/W Photography...

I am relatively new to B/W ?do it yourself? photography and utterly

enjoy practicing this.

I have been trying to find ?my? film along with the right developer in

order to print pictures in which I can discover ?Life? (if you can

grasp what I mean).

I have so far tried the following developers: DD-X, D-76, Rodinal,

X-Tol, Moersch SE6, ID-11, Microphen, Neofin Bleu and T-Max developer.

The following films: Delta 100, 400, 3200, T-Max, Tri-X, Efke 25, 50

and 100, HP5+, Neopan and Acros.

After having developed more than 200 films or so, in all possible

combo?s, with different development timings in both 135 and 120 format

I have found the perfect combination for me is HP5+ or Tri-x (I see no

difference in these) developed with ID-11 or D-76 (no difference in

these either).

Acros film is also nice but strongly resembles a Photoshopped B/W

digital shot.

However what I have been trying to find is a combination which

resembles the B/W photos passed on to me by my grandfather, whom in

his time was a pretty well known photographer. I cannot put in words

what I mean other than ?old fashioned? B/W photography style. As

mentioned Tri-y with D-76 comes pretty close but hasn?t got the ?buzz?

Can anybody help me on this one, I am more than willing to try another

200 films but it might be easier if anybody here might be able to give

me some pointers?.

(by the way Neofin Bleu gives remarkable results, although this has

nothing in common with Old fashioned B/W photos)

Thanks in advance

Jan

Having been on a somewhat parallel trip,I would suggest,the first thing you need is a vintage camera.Box cameras,old folders with an uncoated triplet lens, or a Rapid Rectilinear lens.or maybe a brownie.