Need help quick before the wife changes her mind!

After talking about getting a film scanner for months now the wife

told me to just go ahead and order one. Now before she changes her

mind I need a little help. I've been talking about the Minolta Scan

Elite 5400 and know about its $600 price tag so I'll use that as my

limit. I'll only be scanning 35mm color print film, and will try

slide film in the future but for now I'll stick to 35mm color print

film. I would like to scan each negative large enough to make up to

8x10 prints should I want or need to. I would just love to save

money and purchased the Minolta Scan Dual IV and deal with the

scratches and dust my self but I've never done that before and from

what I hear it can take time. Owners of the Scan Dual IV how do you

deal with them?

I could just bite the bullet and purchase the Minolta Scan Elite

5400. But that's a lot of money and I've read about focusing

problems (not always dead on). I would hate to spend that much money

and not be happy with the scan. If I'm going to spend that much

money I expect to just load the negatives in and come back 20 minutes

later with perfect results. Anything else I should be looking at?

What about a used Nikon coolscan IV, the DMAX is lower when compared

to both Minolta's but what real world difference dose that make?

" If I'm going to spend that much money I expect to just load the negatives in and come back 20 minutes later with perfect results."

I dont know what you expect out of a scanned image, but usually that's where the work in Photoshop starts:

Image cropping, adjusting image size, Adjusting tonality, Adjusting colors, dealing with noise, sharpening, downsizing/upsizing for printing, archiving.

Look at the Nikon Coolscan IV and V. They have better shadow detail, but a harsher light source and shallow DOF.

Digital ICE is a major productivity gain. Don't dismiss it unless you arre scanning mostly non-chromogenic black & white or Kodachrome.