Temperature Control (and is Ilford right or wrong ?)

ted_sorensen1

I have been processing black & white film at home once in a while

for a few years but I am not an expert. I have always tried to

maintain the developer temperature at exactly 20 degrees using a

water bath at 20 degrees. I try to bring the tank to that

temperature in advance using the bath. If I start with the developer

at 20 degrees, I notice that if I measure the temperature after I

pour it out of the tank it is usually slightly above (maybe 21

degrees would be typical). I sometimes try to start a half degree

below to compensate.

Then I looked at Ilfords document "PROCESSING YOUR FIRST BLACK&WHITE

FILM" which is available at:

http://www.ilford.com/html/us_english/pdf/Film%20Hobbyist.PDF

Excerpts:

4 Adjusting and maintaining solution temperature "... Stand the

three containers in a bath of water that is a couple of degrees

warmer than the chosen working temperature of 20?C/68?F."

9 Start development "...The developer should start at 21?C/70?F, to

allow for a slight temperature drop during processing..."

are these statements right or wrong?

Why should the bath be 2 degrees warmer? My room temperature is

about 22 degrees C, so should it not be a half degree cooler, if

anything - or does Ilford assume everyone has cold rooms. Is it a

British thing to have cold rooms?

Why should the developer drop during processing? My hands are warmer

than 20 degrees? Is there a temperature drop resulting from chemical

reactions? If so, why do I not read a lower temperature in my poured

out developer?

Thanks

-Ted

Ilford must have found film development to be an exothermic reaction at some point. Very ocassionally I use my Patterson System 4 tank and have monitored the temp while the development was taking place with a stem/dial thermometer. I found the reaction to be neither exothermic nor endothermic. Simple English is I think Ilford is whooey.