Is a Bogen 3021 a Heavy Enough Tripod for a Pentax 67II or a Mamiya RZ ProII?

steve williams

Steve - I have used both systems with a 3021, but I think it is marginal. With

the understanding that I'm not an engineer of any kind, I think that the weight

of the tripod and head are not very important in taming the shutter vibration in

a P67 at speeds from 1/15 down to 1 second. Damping the vibration by "hand

holding" the camera attached to the tripod is far more effective. The method

has been discussed in the forum on many occasions. If you need details let

me know and I'll send them separately. My standard tripod for my P67, and

for an RZII that I used to have, is a set of Gitzo 340 legs with just a top plate

and the biggest Bogen 3-way head. Rock solid. Slow to set up and use, but

fine for my style. I have used my 3021 with an Acratech ball head when

hiking; the big Gitzo/Bogen combo is a load. In those cases I really

concentrated on damping the camera, or avoided the problem shutter speeds.

I've never used either camera mentioned but I used a 3021 with a 4x5 metal field camera for a number of years and it could handle the weight and bulk of that camera fine. Up until I got a heavier Gitzo, I also used the Bogen with a Canon EOS and 400mm lens plus 1.4x extender. Again, no problem but the bigger Gitzo seems even more stable.

Dampening the vibration of the shutter and mirror slap is not totally dependent on the weight handling capacity of the tripod. You can help matters by simply laying your free arm over the top of the camera you are using.