First time development - Problem

Hi all, I am new to this and today I developed my first roll of HP5+

in Ilfosol S, 1+9 for 7min as from instructions.

First of all I was quite excited to get some images at all but then

looking at the scans that's when the questions started.

First of all the grain is quite pronounced. This is my first HP5 and

it took me a bit by surprise. Is this normal compared so, say, Delta

100 or even 400?

Along the leght of the film there are some marks that I cannot

explain. These are quite nasty and I should really find out the

reason for their presence. Please look at the sample below. Any clue

of what could be causing this? Could I have caused it by squeegeing

the film with my bare fingers a few times?(BTW, the negative seems

clean and therefore we can exclude the possibility of dust)

Any help or suggestion would be very much appreciated.

Cheers,

Stefano -

Is it possible that the guy in the photograph just has a lot of dandruff?

If not, maybe your scanner has a lot of dust on its scanning base unit or the laser bit. Maybe if you try a blower brush on the negative and scanner, and try to enlarge the same section to see if the dandruff is in the same area. If it is, tell the guy to try a different shampoo? :)

Btw - HP5+ is very grainy. That's why people like it...or at least that's what I thought. Delta 400 is miles cleaner but the tonal range is a bit antiseptic compared to what you've got out of HP5+.

Many of my negatives that seem otherwise clean to the naked eye scan with horrendous amounts of dust that looks exactly like the examples you posted. I would examine your negatives in more detail, perhaps under a loupe. A bulb blower helps get rid of some of it, but most of my black and white scans involve some dust spotting in Photoshop.