What Would a Starter Landscape Rig Look Like?

m_stephens

<p>I find myself shooting more and more landscapes these days - both urban and wild. I have some 120 cameras and experience with several older 120 cameras, so I appreciate the difference made by larger negs. I'm interested in giving a try to 4 x 5 to see if I would like it.</p>

<p>What would a beginner's middle of the road rig look like? I would not be hiking far, so I am not too concerned over weight. What I shoot now for this is a 120 camera with either normal or wide angle lens. I would be shooting B&W film like ASA400. I'd like a rig that is reasonable cost and could be sold easily if I don't care for shooting LF.</p>

<p>Do I want a wooden field camera? A mono rail? A Graflex? What lens? What shutter? What do I need that I don't know I need? Is there anything I should absolutely avoid?</p>

<p> </p>