What are the essentials?

I am a high school teacher for my day job, and this year my other life as a photographer has been found out so I have

been asked to teach a beginner digital photography course. (I think that it's funny that I announced I'm a teacher then

proceded with a run on sentence with two passive verbs in it lol.) Anyways... I am putting together an outline for the

course, and I have the basics of the camera functions, settings, etc. Then I get into photoshop, but they just need

the basics. The question I have is what are the essential skills you need? I have a list in mind myself, but I wanted a

little input from others who know, and may have a perspective on it. I'm not going to put my list, because I don't want

to have others read it, and think I mean the same thing they do, but I am missing out what they think is the most

important part.

So that's it:

If you were teaching a newbe the essential skills of photoshop what would you focus on specifically?

Thanks for any input.

First and foremost, how to think in terms of triple backups. I don't know what sort of IT landscape in which you and your students find yourselves, but practicing good file storage hygene and being able to recover from a destructive save-over, etc., is one of those annoying little bits of reality that might be worth a mention. I'm sure you've already addressed the rest of the essentials, image-wise.

One aspect to focus on, which I think is lacking the world of digital users, is the basics of the sensor and the processing of the sensor data to make a raw file. I don't mean the physics of it all, but just the basic principles of how the sensor records light and what happens when it gets converted to a digital raw file. Then explain the white balancing and gamma process and how you go from a raw to a jpg. Then go on to photoshop.

You don't need any of us to tell you that. There are lots of books out there with real life projects that can tell you that.