Taking the plunge? From eos 1d Mark II to Sigma DP3 Merrill?

<p>I am a prosumer photographer and shoot families / portraits about 2-4 times a month. My fee is that of an average pro-photographer due to the fact that 1) my photo's are in the same quality league and 2) people are willing this to pay<br>

I usually work with a Canon EOS 1D mark II with some fast 50mm glass or the 'goldfinger' (24-85mm) and a small lightning studio / or strobes on location.</p>

<p>The 8 mp of the 1D mark II is fine: most people use the pics on the internet or A3 (at most) and I love the camera - but nowadays I'm in search of more Dynamic Range / IQ. I have a Sigma SD 14 as a back-up camera and know the quirck's and failures of the Foveon sensor - but god I love the colors of it!</p>

<p>I was thinking to dump the SD 14 and pick up a Sigma DP-3Merrill to use and keep the 1D mark II for a backup. I know the buffer is small, but I'm not that triggerhappy and know when to shoot. Anyone made this move and would like to share some expierence?<br>

Thank in advance!</p>

<p>I loved the SD14 colors....used it with Leica R lenses for about a year. Just a thought - you can change the camera body mount on your SD14 for other camera body mounts and then use the lenses of that mount in manual or aperture priority mode with your Foveon sensor. Check out Leitax for more info.</p>

<p>If the resolution of the SD14 is good enough then why not just get the SD15 instead? The color is far more reliable and 21 shot buffer should be more than enough for portrait work. Also the 3 sec processing/file is much better than the 7 sec of the SD14 and the 15 sec of the DP3M. Plus you can buy them used for around $350 now on eBay.</p>

<p>Thanks Mike,<br>