showing your photography to friends

Im a begginer and I don't seek to make this my proffession. But I enjoy it and

have a few favorites amongst my work. However im scared to really show it to

other people, because whenever I do that person doesn't really comment much my

work. Instead they show me their work and I see a lot of similiraties between

my work and theirs. This hasn't happened just once but several times. Should

I just ignore this or maybe be more proud of my work and not let others ignore

it?

You should post more here for critique. Sometimes you get some helpful remarks and some inane ones. You will, after some time, learn that if you have an emotion contact with your images you will enjoy them regardless what others think.

I am not a professional. I like to think I am an amateur which means I do it for the love of it.

I agree with Robert. Go ahead and post your photo on the crtique forum. Most of the time when people leave comments they are sincerely trying to help. Others IMHO need to improve their communication skills. When you took the photos something made you click shutter button. Sometimes your image will evoke some type response(which is what you want) but it may not be the same emotion that you had when you were compelled to take the image. Take the rating with a huge grain of salt. There are some excellent images on here that have received 3/3 ratings. As long as you having fun and enjoying photography this is an excellent place to share and learn. Don't be afraid to show images- we all are proud of our images and want to share them. And hopefully evoke some type of response through the image. Regardless of ratings and comments if there are a lot of views, something made them stop and look. They reponded to the image on some level. Happy Clicking!

<i>"I like to think that I don't care what people think about my photographs. Of course,

that takes a lot of discipline to maintain that." ..."I'm doing it for myself to make myself