Should I buy a Nikon D800 now in Aug 2017

Context : I like taking pictures, I am relatively new to photography. I have a D7100, I have couple of nikon f2.8 full frame lenses that I use on the DX. I have been thinking of upgrading to Full frame for a while now. I mostly shoot my family pictures, mostly for personal and vacation shoots. I sometimes print the pictures to put them up the wall.

Question : Considering the context, now that D850 is released and D810 would also start selling for relatively lesser price(used). Should I go for Used D800, I see used D800 selling for $ 880 to 1K range. with 25K to 35K clicks on it?.

Thank you for your input!. Much appreciated.

Bob

Edited by 10953554

Hi Bob - as long as the body is in excellent condition, there is nothing wrong with the D800. It is a good camera. Some say there's a huge difference between the D800 and the D810; others say no. I have a D800e and chose not to upgrade to the D810.

Should you wait for a D810 rather than get a D800 now? It's up to you how long you want to wait, but that waiting game does have its drawbacks. For example, if you wait long enough for D810 prices to come down, it's possible that D850 prices will come down soon after that, and IMHO, the difference between a D850 and D810 is MUCH bigger than the difference between a D810 and a D800.

-Keith

Edited by photo_galleries

I expect to see an increase in used D800 and D800E bodies soon (within a month or two and then another about 1/2 year down the road) when those who didn't upgrade to the D810 now make the jump to the D850; prices will continue to drop. There will also be more used D810 bodies available, with their prices moving downward as well.

Some say there's a huge difference between the D800 and the D810; others say no.

I'm in between - IMHO the D810 feels more refined. Entirely subjective impression though.

the difference between a D850 and D810 is MUCH bigger than the difference between a D810 and a D800.

Certainly.