Shopping for an editing monitor

Hey all,

I'm a semi-pro photographer who is looking to upgrade their monitor. I've delved into the rabbit hole and am a bit overwhelmed. My budget is about $400 or less. I'm coming across a lot of suggestions for the Dell U2415 and U2413 and the Asus PA248Q and even these are hard to choose between, especially since the 2413 has a larger gamut albeit, heftier price. These are all fairly old models by now, and I feel like technology moves so fast with things like this that surely I might be able to get a better value with something fresher to the market? Maybe not? Anyway, please do let me know. I'm not doing print work, but having expanded gamut never hurts and may help me in the future if I send something out to print. Thanks so much!

Side note: I'm also a gamer, so performance for gaming is a consideration, but far down on the totem pole compared to my editing.

I have a Dell Ultra Sharp U2312HM about 4 years old now, maybe 5 years old. It is a very sharp monitor that delivers very fine detail.

Calibrated with Windows 10 built in monitor calibration all sites and photos viewed on the web look correct, photos printed on Epson 2200 photo or XP-610 are off a few shades. When the Spyder 4 was still comparable with windows the calibration looked good on the web and photos printed were within a half shade of the monitor image.

I got an X Rite i1 display pro and it produces a calibration that is very high contrast for web and most photos, newer updates in the software produced less crontrasty settings but still not correct. I have not used it in some time as I'm not doing any critical work or printing.

The problem may be with the Dell XPS 8500 and video card, never took the time to work it out.

The monitor looks as good today as it did out of the box. I do not do any gaming.