Raw does not fit my workflow.

errol_young

<p>I have been photographing for over 40 years and made the switch to digital on 2005.<br>

I always wanted to work in raw files for all the good reasons people work in raw files but I could never find a useful workflow for what I do.<br>

I do event photography. I can come home with 300-700 files to sort through and work on. I probably only give the client half to a quarter of what I shoot.<br>

Working with raw adds 2 to 4 steps to the process and can really slow things down.<br>

Clients are always happy with what I produce because of my shooting and Photoshop where I work with colour casts (Less to do here ever since the D300), cropping, sharpening and contrast all which I have automated into an action.<br>

Am I the only one?</p>

<blockquote>

<p>Working with raw adds 2 to 4 steps to the process and can really slow things down.</p>

</blockquote>

<p> <br>

Not with Lightroom, it's fast and the same as with jpegs.<br>

</p>

<blockquote>

<p> colour casts (Less to do here ever since the D300), cropping, sharpening and contrast all which I have automated into an action.</p>

</blockquote>

<p> <br>

It's easier in Lightroom. You just set the parameters on the first one depending on the shoot and then sync across all photos. No need to create an action, although you can create what is called a preset in Lightroom if you want to use it on other shoots.</p>

<p>I agree, you need to learn either Lightroom or the Bridge. Working multiple files simultaneously and being able to extract more information from your shots is invaluable. Not to mention things like white balance, tint, saturation, contrast, and so on.</p>

<p>There are multiple ways to work around it. LightRoom is one.</p>