Rates for photographing artwork, paintings etc.

stuey

<p>I am a professional photographer, and have been commissioned to quote on photographing a series of paintings, and have no idea what to charge. As the collection is over a large area (across the city) and will be shot over an extended period of time, I guess I need to charge with an eye to travel time.<br>

Some colleagues say to charge a 'call out' fee (much the same as a plumber might) and then a per artwork price.<br>

Others say just charge an hourly rate.<br>

Post production, again, an hourly rate.<br>

But question is, does anyone have ideas as to what these actual rates might be? Has anyone else been in this situation?<br>

Eager to hear your ideas, and thanks in advance!</p>

<p> </p>

<p>By the hour with a minimum half-day charge to cover travel time.<br>

It's hard to suggest an hourly rate not knowing where you are or what others in your area charge, but my half-day rate here in Silicon Valley is $600 and that covers transportation, setup, and shooting. I then charge for usage (licensing) separately.<br>

My $0.02 worth<br>

<Chas><br /><br /></p>

<p>I guess some of the issue is the paintings themselves which could extend from portrait miniatures to a 15 ft Morris Louis modern work, from a fragile, gold-leafed Renaissance panel painting to a multi-layered animation cel. All represent a different level of complexity. Even a "standard" 30"x40" modern oil easel canvas can represent unique challenges on location with surround issues, ambient light control, surface reflections, frame issues etc. </p>