Photoshop VS Photography

Discussion in 'Casual Photo Conversations' started by dhhensler, Mar 12, 2009.

1. I post this to ask a question, not to be critical so please be patient. I am fairly new to PNet (about 1 year of active usage) and I've found it increasingly difficult to distinquish Photoshopped works of art from genuine photographs with minimal manipulations. Personally, I don't really enjoy the overly obvious PS works of art, but I completely respect their artistic creativity and effort. I come from a more old school photography mentality and although I have PS on my computer I really only use LR. I digress.

What I would like to know is; When I click details for an image and it says "Unknown or Yes" for the "Manipulated" field, how can I tell if it was truly manipulated or simply a stunning photograph? This is a real issue for me as I like to get ideas and inspiration from other members but find my self inclined to doubt the nature of the image if it I do not know whether it was manipulated or not.
    An additonal question that I have is; Do most members here believe that PS works of art belong in the same presentation space as unmanipulated photographs? Do most photographers view these as strains of the same thing or different mediums? I see both sides of the argument and just want to get some other perspectives. Thanks and please be gentle, I'm not posting this to attack any PS advocates. Thanks.
    -David

2. "People make way too much out of the digital versus film. The challenges in photography—focus, crop, shutter, aperture, and of course the biggest ones of all, the ones that really matter: what you actually point the camera at, and with what intelligence you use it... are all still there, completely unchanged."
    -Paul Graham in a Photo District News interview at http://www.pdnonline.com/pdn/content_display/features/pdn-online/e3i2de868eb1bec5e46c290229607a72ef2?pn=1