Photoshop CS book?

ken_hassman

Hello All,

I hope this question won't seem out of place here in this strand of

the forums.

I am just getting used to using my Nikon D70. In addition I acquired

Photoshop CS. I am a real novice when it comes to PS (any iteration of

it) and use it to sharpen, increase/decrase saturation and contrast,

convert color to b&w. I know it can do WAAAAAAAAAAAAAY more.

So, my question is, did anyone out there come across a book that

really helped them learn to how to use PS CS? I went to Borders today

and there were too many and I got confused and left. Anyone have a

specific recommendation(s)?

Thanks!

Ken

Thanks Edward, I don't think I saw that today. I may have to go to Barnes and Noble to see if they have that. Some of the books I looked at today focused nearly exclusively on editing portraits-dark circles, smoothing skin, etc. and much of what I do is not portrait. Does this book give good instruction for a variety of subjects?

Ken

True, there are just too many books. The "50 Fast Photoshop CS Techniques" by Gregory Georges will help you become productive immediately. "Adobe Photoshop CS Artistry" by Barry Haynes and Wendy Crumpler provides indepth coverage.

I know that feeling well. It happens to me everytime I get near the computer section at the

big bookstores.

The "heavyweight champion" in any discussion of Photoshop CS books is "Real World

Photoshop CS". It is easily the most authoritative and probably the best written of the lot.

Given the way you describe yourself, this would not be my first recommendation.

Instead, next time you browsing the bookstore, try 'Real World Digital Photography"

Second Edition, by Katrin Eisenmann, et. al. It too is very well written and is a better

overall look at the entire "eco-system" of digital imaging including significant chunks

dealing with digital cameras and printing as well as PsCS.