Photos of the USA olympic team.

<p>I'm no professional portrait photographer, but to me they look pretty amateurish (and not in any good sense). I can't really guess at what the photographer was thinking when he took or selected these images. Unless he had some idea in mind that goes over my head or was seriously constrained by where, what and how he could shoot, he seems to have done a pretty poor job.</p>

<p>Maybe they gave him 15 seconds with each athlete and no control of lighting or background?</p>

<p>The German team images aren't much better.</p>

<p>Here are some additional shots that look more decent but it's unclear who made the pictures: <br>

<a href="http://oddstuffmagazine.com/portraits-of-team-usa-athletes-in-london-2012-olympics.html/1-48">http://oddstuffmagazine.com/portraits-of-team-usa-athletes-in-london-2012-olympics.html/1-48</a></p>

<p>Click the link on the right below the image to advance to the next one. </p>

<p>It looks like his background roll paper was put down over carpet - what a mess. I actually like a couple of the shots (the shot of badminton player Tony Gunawan is one, with one or two more from the full set), but some were very average and most were downright embarrassing.</p>

<p>It's hard for me to believe the USOC wouldn't vet a photographer better before turning him loose to shoot. OTOH, maybe they were trying to cheap out on the fees by not engaging top shooters like Joe McNally, etc.. Maybe they found Klamar on Craigslist and saw that he had a nice camera...after all, that's what makes good pictures, right? </p>

<p>Most of those photos - regardless of photographer - look like they were taken by ambitious young freelance PJs who were experienced in spontaneous captures but not in studio portraiture. Joe Klamar, for example, seems to have a knack for good spontaneous captures of sports figures in action.</p>