Pet photography

dominicbyrne

<p>Hi</p>

<p>Myself and a friend have an opportunity to do some pet photography to help out a pet-sitting business.<br>

I have no real experience of this kind of thing and would like advice on how to approach the sessions.<br>

My equipment will be a D200 with a choice of 105mm, 10-20mm and 18-200mm lenses with one SB-800 flash gun.<br>

Where do I start??<br>

All help and advice appreciated </p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>Use the wide-angle to make the infrastructures look bigger. For pictures of the pets, the 18-200 is probably your best bet as they won't sit still.<br>

Pets are usually bound to have red eyes if you use your flash on the camera. Use the SB-800 as a remote and bounce it off walls, ceilings, whatever. Better use it on manual and SU-4 mode to avoid preflashes (if you have no radio trigger). When shooting animals the preflashes <i>always</i> make them turn away or look odd.<br>

If it is to promote a business, maybe you better stay away from close-ups at all. Concentrate on the accomodation, the space they have, the good treatment, available toys, etc. Of course you have to include some animals, maybe playing and showing them happy. Also show people and how much they care for the pets.<br>

I'm sure somebody will chime in for more advice.<br>

Greetings,<br />Kris.</p>

<p>Good advice from Kris about the strobe use. Off-camera is definitely the way to go, to avoid the eye issue. A single source of light can be challenging with some all-the-way-dark dogs, but you might consider bouncing it off of reflector, or using an umbrella - either way, work with the light source fairly close to avoid harsh shadows. The SU-4 mode is a good idea - dogs have VERY quick reflexes:</p><div>00Rw12-101555584.jpg.6505c9e0420820e48ac1a3b5903632a6.jpg</div>