NYIP

ramona_hanser

<p>Hello Everyone,<br>

I am a passionate photographer and would love to take it to the next level and become a certified semi-pro photographer to build my business. <br>

I'd love to hear some "new" input and information about the NYIP, which offers 3 different courses with certification on the end.<br>

I am about to sign up for the "Fundamentals of Digital Photography" course and would love to hear if someone recently has signed up for it or even finished it and what do you think about it?<br>

Any honest input is very very much appreciated.<br>

Thank you very much</p>

<p>Looking at the NYIP's short digital course, if you're a passionate photographer you probably know most of it anyway, and if not, I think you can get all that from buying a good book, working through it very diligently, and posting examples of your work for critique here or on some other site where people will comment. Is it the certification you're wondering about, whether it's worth it to spend the money for the piece of paper? If so, I'm curious too. <br>

I'm kind of in your shoes; I want desperately to get better, but I have little money and almost no mobility, so I am simply doing what I can. Right now I am working through the information on David Hobby's Strobist blog. It's slow going, because I can't drop a thousand dollars on all the great gear all at once. I can buy one or two pieces of gear per pay period, so I've been prioritizing what's the most important. In the meantime, I'm having to do things like mount my flash on a tripod with a ball head and use a thin sheet stretched over a flimsy frame to shoot through. But his lessons are free and very comprehensive, and as I slowly get more images up on the stock photo site I have been submitting to, I figure my portfolio eventually will start to speak for itself and I (hopefully) won't need a piece of paper saying I'm certified in this, that or whatever.</p>