<p>I'm a serious amateur photographer. I've been using an older ViewSonic 21" CRT monitor til now, which I'm pretty happy with except for it's slight lack of contrast. I run a screen resolution of roughly 1800 (W) x 1350 (H), which I make full use of. I'd be content to continue using it, but I've found myself suddenly needing to relocate my main desktop computer to a location where this monstrous CRT simply won't fit, depth-wise.</p>

<p>So now I'm in the market for a new wide-screen LCD monitor in the 24-27" neighborhood. I want to maximize the screen resolution, with 1200 lines tall being a bare minimum. I also want reasonably accurately color. I'm not a pro, but I try to keep my current monitor calibrated & I'd like to do the same with this one. I also run Linux, not Mac or Windows,so I probably can't make use of vendor-supplied software that's required to fully utilize a particular monitor. I'm a computer guy by trade, but monitor shopping isn't my area.</p>

<p>Because I haven't shopped for monitors in many years (before LCD's were available), I don't know what sort of metrics a photographer should look for in a monitor. What specs should I be looking at? Are there particular brands that tend to be more photographer-friendly than others? Because I don't make money at this, I can't be spending $1000 on a monitor, but I don't necessarily have a hard budget limit yet.</p>

<p>Thanks for any advice you can provide.</p>

<p>I wonder if HannsG 28" monitor (27.5" usable) would satisfy you. It has 1920 x 1200 native pixels resolution, HDMI and VGA inputs, and built in speakers. It costs around $300 at Costco.com or less when is on sale. Also plays HD video via the HDMI directly from a Blu-Ray player, or from a high definition AVCHD camcodrer. Workd great with media players like WD HDTV Live playing HD video from an attachable USB external drive, or media server.</p>