N+1 Explanation

<p>Hi everybody, I need something explained to me. I'm just learning about expansion and contraction of black and white film during processing for value control, and I am a little confused. I understand that N+1 is an expansion, and N-1 is a contraction, but I don't understand how long the +1 is. If you had a developing time of 10 minutes, is N+1 11 minutes? And N-1 9 minutes? I don't understand if the +1 and -1 are a set amount of time, or if it is a percentage of the original time. If anybody can help me understand, I would appreciate it. <br>

Thanks everybody.</p>

<p>The times are based on the characteristics of the film and developer combination. The idea is that a +1 development will move a zone V exposure to Zone vi and a -1, will move zone v to zone iv. Each film and developer combination/dilution will have different characteristics and thus different times.</p>

<p>JohnPaul, If you use Tri-X and Adams' developer solutions (D-76 is still available--or Ilford ID-11), you should approximate his results. When you use other (usually more modern) films and developers, you need to calibrate the process. There is a good explanation of zone system calibration in the book: <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0240816250/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=credify&linkCode=as2&camp=217145&creative=399369&creativeASIN=0240816250">Way Beyond Monochrome</a>.</p>