Looking for a Tripod...

willscarlett

<p>I'm at the point where I could use a new tripod. The one I have was passed down to me from one of my dad's friends and while it is very sturdy, it's also incredibly heavy. I've been carrying it around with me as needed for the past 8 years, but I know there's a lot of good stuff out there now.</p>

<p>In short, I'm looking for either an aluminum or carbon fiber tripod that has a nice max height, but is portable and lightweight. It needs to be strong enough to support my gear, which ranges from Nikon 35mm SLR bodies to a Pentax 67. One of my friends recommended looking at Benro, Manfrotto, and MeFOTO.</p>

<p>What do people here like - any specific model suggestions? I'd say my budget is $400 max.</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>Assuming your budget doesn't need to include a head , I's suggest you include a Manfrotto 055CXPRO3- a medium sized carbon fibre 3 section tripod - in your short list. </p>

<p>Whatever you buy, if you work with the camera on its side you'll need a very good head to prevent downward droop in the vertical mode, and you'll need to understand that weight and stability are linked. It might well be that modern design and materials notwithstanding, your older heavier tripod might well be more solid on springy grass etc. </p>