ISO 800 film advice

Just looking for some quick advice, as I have very little experience

using 800-speed films.

I have a family member playing high school basketball, and want to

take a few rolls' worth of pictures at a few of her games this

winter, for family keepsakes/scrapbooks/whatever.

I took my camera to the opening game last weekend, just to check the

light, and found I'll need ISO 800 to get the shutter speeds I want.

(I don't have an 85/1.8, so I'm limited to my 70-210/2.8.)

So, what I was wondering is -- which 800 films perform best (grain,

color, etc) when actually exposed at 800? I'm not necessarily

partial to brand, or pro vs consumer.

Thanks for any help. :-)

Fuji NPZ. It's an 800 speed film that performs like a 400 film from a few years back. Whenever I really need that extra stop I use it without hesitation. I rarely use it nowadays, but when I shot theater productions, I used it exclusively.

My second choice would be Ektar 1000 / Royal Gold 1000 / whatever they call it nowadays, if it's still available. Back when I shot hockey for a school paper, it looked pretty good. Then again, I never enlarged much.

Ctein tested both in Photo Techniques, and found Fuji NPZ to have far less grain and greater resolution than Kodak's offering. Kodak had a *slightly* more attractive color balance. (nowadays, that isn't much of an issue, scan and balance to your heart's content) But in the end, he would reach for the NPZ, and I would certainly be inclined to do the same!

I too have found Fuji's 800 speed consumer film to be quite good. I buy Superia X-TRA 800 but some claim Fuji Press 800 to be more consistant in quality. I don't have any experience with Fuji Portrait NPZ 800 Professional print film.

<i>Fuji Superia/Press 800 is the best of that lot</i>

<br><br>