Is full-time child photography a good income earning career? (Or is competition too fierce)

jeane_smith

Hello fellow photographers!

I am asking for some candid opinions as to whether a career move into

photography (namely child/baby photography) is a good option with a good

future, and what are the pros/cons to this kind of business for those of you

who do it full time.

A little background about me - photography has been my passion for as long as

I can remember. I have a little formal education with photography and I

probably don't spend a day without shooting with my SLR and I am also really

good with Photoshop (in fact that is one of my specialities). However, right

now, photography is not my full-time career. I work as a computer professional

in corporate America making a decent salary although I am forever drawn to my

true passion in life - photography. (I especially love portrait photography of

babies and children).

I certainly have the passion, the desire and the willingness to succeed, and I

keep hearing all these "wonderful" stories about how this is an awesome

business and after doing a little research on the internet, it seems like

every website out there is talking about how lucrative child photography is

and trying to sell you some package on how to get your "million dollar"

business started.

This is why I want to ask those of you who do this full-time and know

the "real world" out there about what it is that people who want to come into

this business should know.

I only know the "real world" about my own field of work - I can certainly tell

someone a lot about the real-life world of my profession - things they don't

tell you in college, especially back when everyone was chasing the .com craze.

But those are the kinds of things I want to know now about the field of

photography.

I know in my heart that if I take the plunge and follow my passion I would