In hybrid workflow does film choice really matter?

<p>After a few years of using only digital cameras, I long to use some of my older rangefinders. I will be using a hybrid workflow where I will shoot c41 color film and then scan the "keepers" into my computer where I will be adjusting contrast, color, sharpness, etc. digitally before printing. If this is the case, does it really matter which film I use for capture? I realize that different films have different grain structure and other physical characteristics, but if I am going to be adjusting contrast, saturation, etc, digitally, do I really gain anything by using pro films, or one pro film versus another? <br>

In this sort of hybrid workflow, which ISO 100 and 400 films do you think would work best? I have a Minolta Scan Elite 5400 II scanner and own both Vuescan and Silverfast SE Plus software, however I am new to scanning and would prefer to keep the scanning process as straightforward as possible. I note that neither Silverfast nor Vuescan have built in film profiles for 400 UC and Ektar 100 which seem to be frequently recommended on PN for this purpose. Do I need to produce my own profiles for these films if I want to scan them?<br>

Thanks!</p>

<p>Answer is Yes.... Some films love a scanner some don't also it depends on how you shoot them... adjusting in PS does not make any difference if the exposure is way off and then there is ICE.</p>

<p> Your scanner and mileage will differ... :-)</p>

<p> You will need to make up your own mind with what film you like... Sorry but it is not a simple answer.</p>