How much do we project our interior world on the canvas of the world at large?

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by jack mcritchie, Jan 18, 2017.

1. I posed this question in a reply to comments on a recent picture which started an interesting dialogue with Leslie Reid. I am curious if other members have thoughts on this subject or perhaps experiences that touch on this. I'll try to post the picture to give you some reference (this is my first time starting a forum thread, so I'll just try to take a stab at it). I've asked Leslie to repost her replies and I will do the same with my answering comments, just to start the ball rolling. Here goes.
    00eK4u-567416384.jpg

2. That is an interesting question, Jack--the world as a Rorschach test... I suspect the answer is "a lot," and I suspect that that's the basis for so many photographers having their own individually recognizable styles. I can be standing right next to someone, looking at the same thing they are, and yet be seeing something completely different than what they see; we end up with two completely different photos. What we see depends a lot on what we want to find, and what we want to find depends a lot on our inner worlds. And that's one of the reasons that looking at someone else's photos is never boring--as viewers we're learning a lot about other ways of seeing the world.

3. Leslie
    Thanks for your always thoughtful comments. I think I'm more interested in the photographer, how he or she
    sees things, than the photograph itself as a stand alone artifact, as fascinating as it may be. I consider the
    photograph more as an inevitable projection of the personality and character of the photographer. I think that
    photography, as with all the arts, is tied up with the idea that we are responsible co-creators of the world we
    experience and think that our perception calls forth the world, filtered through and in line with all the