Ever had a dilution fail with HC-110?

<p>I have been using HC-110 for many years and Dilution H and more for the last few. Now Kodak says never use less than 6ml fer roll of 35mm 36 exp or a roll of 120. I have gone less than this many time and never ever had a fail.<br>

So as the title ask Anyone? Maybe we can go with Rodinol fail in this also. As I never had that happen in 40 years.</p>

<p>Larry</p>

<p>For 35mm in a single-reel tank, I use 5ml of HC-110 concentrate with 8oz of water. That's around a 1:47 dilution. Never had a problem with poor development doing this. I've even used 5ml with 16oz of water and gotten good results using semi-stand development.</p>

<p>I think you'd have to compare identically exposed negatives developed at the recommended by Kodak minimum to your negatives developed at less than Kodak's minimum to really know whether your dilution is "failing". Your negatives might appear to be developed correctly, but suffer in gradation compared to negatives developed to Kodak's recommendations. I've found I can develop film to normal contrast in as little as 1ml Hypercat concentrate to 300ml of solution, but gradation suffers compared to negatives developed to the same contrast in 3ml of concentrate to 300ml of solution. It's important to have a standard by which to judge.</p>

<p>Jay brings up a very good point. I think I'll try an experiment next weekend using dilutions B and H, H having less than the recommended minimum, of the exact same subjects on the same roll of film. I'll do 120 film, so we have great big negatives to compare.</p>

<p>Like Frank, I've gone with 3ml (500 ml solution, dilution H) many times and had no problems, but it was with 24 exposure 35mm. The 6ml number is for 36 exposure 35mm or 120.<br />I also use Rodinal and the lowest Ive gone is 1+200 in a 500ml solution. It again worked with 24 exposure 35mm.</p>