Digital Enhancement or Digital Manipulation

Stephen I am new to phtography annd have'nt had the pleasure of printing my own photographs in a darkroom. Of course I am aware that there is a certain amout of enhancement that is done in a dark room, but lately I have got the feeling that any Tom Dick and Harry can take a picture, photoshop it, and voila! you have a technically perfect picture.

I've heard that some photographs are created completely digitally;just by cutting and pasting.

Has this become an art that is now judged by who can better use photoshop?

<i>but lately I have got the feeling that any Tom Dick and Harry can take a picture, photoshop it, and voila! you have a technically perfect picture.</i>

<p>

So do it and post the results. Put up or shut up.

Mark thank you for contributing to the conversation.

My intention was not to insult Tom, Dick and Harry or to challenge anyone...and maybe I could have done without that sentence...

My question is this:'Has this become an art that is now judged by who can better use photoshop?'

If You must believe in something, it can as well be the purity of photography. Interestingly, I never heard such discussions about the art that's been drawn or painted by hand. Once the photorealistic painting was popular, but it never made modernist classics any less classic.

I'm just making, not taking, pictures.

A master, regardless of the medium, will always be a master; everyone else is just a player. IMHO it's an art just as airbrushed nudes in the 1950s were....there were masters of the trade and then everybody else.

There isn't a fine line, there's a definite and defined line.

Enhancement implies that the image quality, clarity or degree of detail is improved.

Manipulation implies control or influence in an ingenious or devious manner.

Example : lightening, brightening and sharpening are enhancements

morphing, twisting, adding bits that weren't there are manipulation