Constructive Crticism

I have been reading many post for the past few months, and I have noticed a disturbing trend. It seems like when

someone asks for a critique it is translated as "please bash the work I have done." In one such post a member

came out with the comment that "i never ask other photographers for a critique" his reason was that we over analyse

the image. I can see that, but that is also what we are looking for to take the next step. I think that the issue has

more to do with the way the message is delivered. The amount of knowledge available in this forum is emense due to

the number of quality photographers there are here, so in order to deliver this information in a way that builds the

community I would like to look at positive ways to deliver criticism. (I essentially offer criticism for a living, I'm a

teacher so I have experience, I also have done the research.)

1. The person asking for your opinion is not trying to waste you time, they are not joking, and they are not making

fun of you. They are doing the best they can with the information/skill they have.

2. Begin with the positives, even it they are hard to find. Nice subject, good exposure, or just commenting on how

they are brave for putting their work out for everyone to see.

3. Try to state advice as a positive, not a negative. i.e. Instead of "you really underexposed that image" you could

state "you should try to expose the image for the highlights".

4. Don't make it personal. What we are putting out for others to see is already personal enough, no one needs to

read that "your work is no good, and niether are you". To be fair I have never read this exactly, but the messages

often feel that way at times.

5. This is for the internet in general. Remember there is a face behind these words/pictures. I often think that we

would never act this way in person but the fact that all we see is a computer sceen takes away some of our

humanity.