Complexity and the DSLR -- how it affects us

carbon_dragon

I've been using DSLRs now for 6 months (KM 5D, Canon 5D). Both cameras have

what I'd call a high complexity (lots of features, lots of menus, lots of

controls, etc.). The KM menus made a bit more sense to me, but maybe that's my

Minolta heritage talking. Really the cameras pretty much Have to be more

complex because there are so many more things to "set" on the DSLRs that

didn't exist in the film world (iso, white balance, sharpness, etc.).

I have always liked simple cameras with elegant interfaces (Leicas, Contax

SLRs, etc). Really the DSLRs have been something of a traumatic shock. However

I am a software engineer, so I've been able to apply enough careful study to

both cameras to use them effectively. I find you have to continually go back

and restudy the manual in order to just remember what the controls do and how

to find them when you need them. And I find I spend significantly more of my

photographic time when shooting fussing with the camera instead of thinking

about the shots.

So do you all have a similar experience? Do you find yourself spending more

study time when not shooting to master the hardware, and do you spend more

time on site working the machine then you used to with film bodies? If so, do

you think that is bad or good? If bad, what do you think the chances are that

future DSLRs will find smoother ways to integrate the features?

Remember, there is such a thing as superior UI design. I think the Minolta

600si when it debuted was pretty much acknowledged as an "easier" camera to

use than my previous 7xi. I still have a couple of 600si bodies and I liked

them a lot. Maybe there is a way to configure the controls of some future DSLR

so that the features are easier to use and more intuitive. What do you think?