Clean That Scanner!

This may not be the most appropriate forum for the subject, but I think many of us here are confronted with this issue, now and then.

I've been using an Epson Perfection V700 scanner for the last a couple of years, and have been happy with the results, but over the last month or so I had a growing suspicion that the quality of the scans was deteriorating, with a certain softening of definition and a slight haziness in highlights. A close inspection of the scanner glass on the flatbed revealed a build-up of haze on the underside of the glass, apparently caused by the slow release of gases from the plastic and electronic components.

So, I decided to take the bull by the horns and disassemble the scanner to enable cleaning of the glass. I came across a really good web page that outlined the procedure in simple terms and without the masses of cautionary and contradictory information floating around the Net.

Cleaning Epson V700 Flatbed Scanner Glass

Removing the plastic plugs that conceal the four screws that secure the class in it's frame to the body of the scanner is the only tricky part. I used the sharp tip of a snap blade knife (I think you call them box cutters in the States), inserted firmly downwards at the wide end of the "V" as instructed, and the plugs popped out with minimal abrasion. After removal of the screws, the frame and the glass lifted off with a little jiggling, and I carefully inverted it and laid it on a sheet of A3 white art paper.

For cleaning I used a proprietary glass cleaner and newsprint. The spray application of the fluid immediately converted the haze into a somewhat sticky dark grey residue that took some serious polishing to remove, but having the white paper under the glass enabled me to complete the job to perfection. Reassembly was a breeze.