Chemicals needed

katie_barnes1

Hi

I have searched the forums and I'm still confused - sorry!

I was a photography student and I am just about to set up my own darkroom and

am getting confused about the chemicals and was hoping you could help me if you

don't mind..?

I just want a basic (easy to understand) knowledge of exactly what the

chemicals are called for developing the film in the tank, and the ones used in

the 3 trays in the darkroom, and how to set them all up.

It's something I never really took note of and kind of took for granted it was

all there waiting on me!

Sorry and Thanks for any help you can give me.

Kind Regards

Katie

Katie, I can help you with the film developing. You need Developer, Stop Bath, Fixer, Hypo Wash and finally wetting agent. If you are starting out, I would stick with a general developer from Kodak, or Ilford, which is what I use (Id-11), get a rapid fixer from Kodak of Ilford, but there are many different types.

Katie -

Sean has covered the film developing side. For print developing you need

- developer (Ilford multigrade, Dektol, etc)

- stop (Indicator stop from Kodak, Ilford or Sprint, etc)

- fix (I suggest Ilford or Sprint rapid fix, etc)

- rinse

- hypo clear - (Kodak or Sprint HCA, PermaWash, etc)

You need four trays - one each for developer, stop, fix and rinse. Let the prints accumulate in the rinse tray until the printing session is over, dump the developer, stop and fix, and then rinse out one of those trays for the hypoclear. Actually you only need hypoclear if you are printing on fiber base paper; it can be skipped if you are using RC paper.

Hi,

With non-hardening fixers (like Ilford Rapid Fixer) you will have no need of hypo clearing agents.

I am just beginning also and I use the following chemicals:

For film: Developer= Kodak Xtol; Stop Bath= Fomacitro; Fixer= Ilford Rapid Fixer; Wetting agent= Tetenal Mirasol.