Cheapest ($500?) AF 500mm lens?

sarah_fox

<p>Dear cousins from the Nikon universe,</p>

<p>I'm a Canon photographer (very little knowledge of Nikkor lenses) with a Nikon APC-C uncle. My uncle asked me what would be "the next step up" from his 55?-300mm (probably f/5.6 at 300) zoom, which I could not hold quite long enough to read the markings (ADHD issues). I then queried him about several things:</p>

<p>Subject: birds<br /> Birds in flight or sitting still? Still<br /> Types of birds: Probably small birds in back yard, range 20-75 ft. (my guess)<br /> Budget: about $500<br /> Manual focus OK? No. (I had suggested one of Nikon's manual focus mirrors.)<br /> Prime or zoom? He didn't seem to have any preference.<br /> Enlargement size: prints up to 14" minor dimension.</p>

<p>Additional info: Novice photographer, point-and-shoot skill level. Probably doesn't need stunning image quality from his lens. My own assessment is that cheap would actually be a very good idea. While I would recommend a higher budget to many people, I realize my uncle is unlikely to care for this lens well (e.g. throwing it in a camera bag without either front or rear caps or protective filter, left to swim with other uncapped lenses and other stuff). I don't know whether a 500mm lens AF lens can be had for $500. I honestly don't have much familiarity with really long and/or really cheap lenses.</p>

<p>With an emphasis on CHEAP, AF capable, and 500 mm, what lenses might work?</p>

<p>Is there any hope of using a TC and still getting AF when using a 300mm f/5.6 lens? Perhaps f/8 with a 1.4x TC? I'm guessing not.</p>

<p>Thanks, my Nikonian cousins! :-)</p>

<p>PS Be gentle! ;-)</p>

<p>If the budget were around $5000, I have suggestions about 500mm/f4 AF Nikon lenses. For $500, unless it is stolen stuffs or broken.</p>