Another Confrontation Anecdote - comments appreciated

Discussion in 'Street and Documentary' started by foveant, Jan 14, 2007.

1. I am a novice in street photography. Today, while I was walking downtown with
    my camera I stopped on the sidewalk and photographed a middle-aged female
    jogger as she was passing by in the opposite direction. She came to a stop a
    few feet after passing me and said I had no right to take photos of her. I
    replied that I did have the right to take photos of her as she was in a public
    place and explained that what I was doing was perfectly legal. She asked me
    what the photos were for. I told her, “nothing--it's just documentary
    photography.” She continued on to say that her husband was a “cop” (her
    wording), insinuating a threat, I assume. She asked for my name. I told her
    my first name and suggested that she should tell her husband and have him look
    into the legality of my photographing her. She did not respond to this. I
    added that if she did not like my photographing her I would not take any
    further photos. She then asked for my last name. I told her my last name and
    spelled it out to her. She continued with an ultimatum in a nervous, shaken
    voice, “don’t take pictures of me!” repeated it once or twice more, turned
    around, and continued on her jog. I did not take any more photos of her and
    continued on my way in the opposite direction, feeling a bit disheartened by
    the experience.
    <br><br>
    I know I was not legally obligated to tell her what the photos were for or what
    my name was, but I was trying to make it apparent that I had no ill
    intentions. Where did I go wrong and how might situations like this be avoided
    while taking candid photos in public places? Should I set my 50mm aside and
    purchase a big telephoto lens or should I just work on my approach?
    <br><br>
    Notes: I was using a Nikon D50 with a neck strap and a 50mm lens attached. It