Another Big Camera Store Fails: Why Are So Many Closing?

henryp

I am a UK based professional wedding and portrait photographer and camera stores have had it hard along these shores as well. The biggest chain closed down and then reopened again as a more efficient business. One of the larger independents closed down too a few years ago. Curiously, the two small independent stores tucked close to each other in an old arcade have all managed to stay open. One of them have even moved to the premise opposite which is much bigger. I don't know how these two small stores managed to stay open as business have remained the same in the last twenty years to my knowledge. I bought my first digital camera (a Canon S30) from one of them in 2002. The other, which still does business in old and new gear has had business from me from time to time. Whenever I have visited these stores, there has been a small group of people looking.

Maybe I am wrong but my impression is that there are local factors involved in these businesses failing and sometimes, doing things the same way over 60 years means gathering a lot of inefficiency and failing to connect to the new customers.