50mm f/1.4 vs. 1.8, D vs. G for novice

mark_pierlot

<p>I have a friend who just acquired a used D90 with a couple of mediocre Nikkor zooms, and he'd like to pick up a 50mm AF prime. He's been looking at 50/1.8's and 50/1.4's, both D and G, and it's not clear which one he should get.</p>

<p>I'm a Canon user (who, incidentally, has a nice collection of MF Nikkor primes), so I have no experience with Nikon's AF offerings. As far as I can tell, the D's perform pretty much as well as the G's on APS-C bodies, and are significantly cheaper, so it seems he should get a D.</p>

<p>Unsurprisingly, 50/1.4's sell for quite a bit more than 50/1.8's, but they're obviously only a little faster. My friend likely won't be doing a ton of low available light work anyway, but he is concerned about image quality. So do you think it would be worthwhile for him to get a 50/1.4 instead of a 50/1.8?</p>

<p>The 1.4's are usually made to a higher spec than the 1.8's in addition to being a bit faster. Personally I'm a big fan of the 1.8G. The difference in image quality between that and the 1.4G isn't huge, and it's a pretty big improvement over the 1.8D. The 1.8G has excellent contrast and sharpness and really nice bokeh. The G versions have newer optics than the D versions and have AFS (internal silent motor - the D versions rely on the motor in the camera, and the D90 is one of the models that has a motor in the camera, but the AFS lenses are much quieter).</p>

<p>Even though I own lenses like the 17-55 2.8 AF I can say with-ought hesitation that the 50 1.4 is the sharpest lens in my kit. It is wonderful even wide open. It focuses very fast and quietly. The bokeh is wonderful for portrait work and the colors and contrast are fantastic.I think this lens is one of the best Nikon Bargains on the market. The 1.8 is an excellent lens but it will not touch the 1.4. It is my favorite lens.</p>

<p>-Cheers</p>