35mm newbie (Zenit TTL)

So my dad gave me a Zenit TTL a long time ago. I wanted to give it a try recently but I am a complete newbie. I bought some 35mm film and loaded it up and took some pictures (I thought I did?). I then put it through a jumbl all-in-one 35mm to digital scanner and I see nothing on the film! What am I doing wrong? Does the Zenit TTL need a battery? I read that it's not needed but I'm not sure...

I should probably just get a digital lol...

It needs to be developed? I guess I need some reading up to do...

:) for sure.

The Zenits tend to be fairly unsophisticated, but they are a good basic camera to learn on.

All the exposure, composition, etc., stuff are the same regardless, but "analog" (=film) add their own layer to what you need to learn.

Older (film era) general intro books can be found very cheaply used on line and most of them are decent.

Yes the All-in-1 doesn't do it all.

Most people getting interested in film cameras were around in the film days, though maybe not so interested at the time.

For some cameras, the loading process is slightly complicated, such that you could make mistakes.

For 35mm cameras, you have to rewind the film at the end of the roll, usually after pressing a button on the bottom.

For color negative film, there are still enough places around to develop it.

You can ask for develop only, and scan the negatives yourself.

As you get more interested, you could use black and white film, and develop the

negatives yourself. It is nice to have someone around who has done it before, but

it isn't all that hard to learn to do.

-- glen

I have a Zenit TTL also, and it's one of my favorite "user" cameras--basic, but quite capable and good to learn on. If you don't have the manual, here's a link:

ZENITcamera: User manual -- ZENIT-TTL

If you're new to photography, you might consider Dwayne's Photo, which does mail-order film processing (color or black & white). You can order prints, or just the developed negatives.