16mm transfer problem

larry_eglinton

<p>I bought a Sony Handycam to facilitate my 16mm film transfer project. I have a nice 16mm projector, and I bought a 90 degree reflector screen, and have it all set up. It's recording a nice picture in the Handycam, but I have this "pulsating" light showing up on the camera. The picture on the reflector frame looks perfect, yet once it's recorded on the Handycam, this "pulsing" light appears. What could that be??? Thanks so much for your help....</p>

<p>Slow down the shutter speed on the Handycam. The film projection is flickering, the video is flickering. Typically, your eyes can't see the flicker, but when you combine the flickering you get the funky effect. It's kinda like flash sync on an SLR. The the camera has to record for the entire duration that each frame of film is flashed on the screen.</p>

<p>Larry, I'm no expert, but if I'm reading you correctly, it could be the beat frequency you're seeing related to differences in frame rate between the camcorder and projector resulting in flicker.</p>

<p>If so, the only solution I can think of is to feather the projector speed while watching for flicker. Others might chime in with a more intelligent solution. :-)</p>

<p>Thanks guys. Rather than flickering, it's more of a pulsing light. It's as if the light on the projector is being turned up and down. I would describe it like a yellow traffic light that is in a flashing mode. If I'm reading you guys right, you're describing a the flicker of the frames as they travel through the projector, but it's slower than that. Matthew, I will try that shutter speed thing..... thanks very much! If you can think of anything else, it would be much appreciated!!</p>

<p>Larry, you have two problems here.</p>

<p>1. The projector is not synchronized to a quartz crystal and the speed can vary slightly.</p>