Hasselblad A12 Magazine problems? [TMB]

jumpmaster

Hello everyone...

I've been reading the archives on the medium format digest for some

time now and am quite impressed with the expertise demonstrated by

most of you! I have a problem and hope someone here will be kind

enough to speculate about what it could be...

I've been a photographer for about 7 years now and I just bought a

Hasselblad 500CM with 80mm 2.8 C lens...I also bought an A12 back.

All of the equipment was used and purchased from KEH. As some of you

may know, they tend to underrate their equipment. The lens

was "excellent" condition while the back and body were "bargain"...if

you're not familiar with what that means to KEH, "bargain" describes

the physical appearance of the item (brassing, etc) and not the

operation. Unless it is denoted as "ugly", it's supposed to work

fine. (So please don't try to tell me I bought junk...:-) )

I attempted to shoot a roll of T-Max 400 through the camera today.

Much to my chagrin, I was unable to advance the film while winding

the crank (on the body). Some background -- I read about 3 sets of

instructions and am certain I loaded the film properly, I do have the

original manual and have read it as well as Wildi's "Hasselblad

Manual"...so I'm sure everything was set up correctly...the

indicators on both the magazine and the body were white when mated.

What happens is when I attach the back, release the shutter, and wind

the crank, the gears on the back are not engaging with the gears on

the body and the back actually comes apart from the body slightly

when *trying* to advance the film. (It wouldn't advance easily

without manipulating the magazine and/or forcing it, so I stopped...)

Does anyone have any idea which part is at fault? As far as I can

tell from visual inspection, the gears look fine...no missing teeth,

not worn, etc...it makes a $1200.00 setup about worthless with a