In digital, is a blended exposure just as good as grad ND?

zapped

I'm a humble amateur with a fair amount of SLR experience prior to my

purchase of a 300D/Rebel, but I'd never used a graduated ND filter

before. Now that I understand the purpose of a grad ND, I thought I'd

be somewhat frugal and purchase a Cokin P-series grey card in

rectangular form, despite the warnings about a color shift.

However, I'm wondering if even that purchase is a waste of money for a

strictly digital photographer. Given that a grad ND is generally used

for a static landscape, probably with camera mounted on tripod,

certainly not for quick spur-of-the-moment shots, would I be just as

well off to take two separate shots and blend them digitally? I've

already used my RAW workflow to "develop" multiple exposures from a

single RAWfile, then combined them with a layer mask to simulate the

ND grad transistion, getting very pleasing results.

Am I missing any benefits of the ND grad filter if I use digital blending?

The only problem I see with doing it digitally is that it may look unnatural. If you are able to come up with an image that an experienced photographer can not tell was digitally manipulated, then I don't see any problems with it. Personally, shooting slides, I would much rather get a proper exposure at the time of shooting than do it later (even though I scan and am proficient with PS). Also, if I wish to project the slide for viewing, getting the exposure correct originally is the only option. If you do decide to buy a ND set, I would not suggest the Cokins. Buy the Cokin P holder and Lee or Hi Tek filters (innexpensive, truly ND) which will fit the Cokin holder. In your situation, I think blending is the best idea, like Ellis says. Maybe post a sample of your blending skills so we can see if it looks natural?