I want to take a dozen shots but I have only 2 film holders

erikj

I just got my 4x5 kit and I have 2 film holders. What do people do after the film is

exposed??? I know this is a lame question, but I have no experience with LF cameras. I

know I can just leave them in the holders, but I want to reuse the holders. Do I have to

get 10 holders if I want to take 20 shots?

Thanks.

Get a device called a changing bag. It's like a field darkroom, a lightproof rubberized

cloth bag with elastic sleeves for your hands and a double zipper to seal it up tight.

Put your filmholders and box of film in the bag and zip it up, insert your arms in the

sleeves and then you can load and unload the filmholders in daylight. It gets easier

with practice.

Ditto to all of the above; plus, if you have a lab which will be developing your film, ask if they can give you an empty sheet film box that you can place your "exposed" film in. It is best not to "mix and match" exposed film in the same film box. Also remember what type of film etc. is in the "exposed" film box. Happy Shooting!