What Scanner do you recommend, are you using?

rich_weiss

I am currently shooting an M7 with 12mm VC, 28mm Asph Summicron,35

Asph Summicron and 90mm f2.8. I also use a Canon 10D. I wish to

purchase a scanner "worthy" of my Leica glass. I am using photoshop

CS and have a Epson 2200 printer. I am new to Digital, however I have

had some good success printing images from my 10D.

I would be shooting typically Fuji Reala 100 and 800, and TriX, and

TMax (100 and 400, usually not pushed) in my M7.

I have old Kodachromes as well.

I am looking at the following scanners:

Microtek ArtixScan 1800f 1,049 after rebate

Microtek ArtixScan 120tf 1,500 after rebate

Nikon Super Coolscan 8000 ED 1,849 after rebate

Imacon Flextight 343 4,995.95

I have heard the 1800 F is good for slide film, but hard to use for

color negs, while the 120tf is intuitive and Nikons jam.

I do not mind spending 5,000 if I really have to, but if any of the

above scanners would do justice to my Leica, that would be fine.

I would welcome any other scanner suggestions, these are scanners I

have spoken to friends about. I live in an area where I cannot look

at these scanners.

Please give me your experience with ease of use, product quality,

optical quality and customer service.

thankyou for your time.

I think the first question you need to ask yourself is why are you looking at scanners that do more than 35mm? Will you need this? Do you have medium format negs that you need to scan?

If the answer is no then stick to a dedicated 35mm scanner. Remember that even 2820 dpi scanners are going to give you an equivalent of 40 mega pixels.

The next question is how big are your finished prints going to be? If you are using the 2200 the largest you are going to get is Super A3. So in a lot of cases 2820 or 4000 dpi is going to be fine. Some of your choices are over kill.