king_fung1

I am in the painful process of upgrading my CF lenses to newer

CFi/CFE lenses(all of them are expensive). As far as the CF150mm is

concerned, I am considering to purchase the cheaper CB160mm lens in

order to save some money for upgrading other lenses. Does anyone out

there has experience with this CB lens? And by the way, does anyone

know where can I purchase brand new CB60, CB80 and the CB120? Please

help!

I have used the 160mm but I sold it since I used it too little. I am not a professional and for the kind of pictures I take, the 80mm is enough, I do not need another lens.

the 160mm is an excellent lens. Optically and mechanically there is nothing wrong with it. The mtf rating of this lens is however a bit lower compared to the 150cf. In real life photography the chances of seeing this difference is NIL. For some fundamentalists however, this lower mtf rating is reason enough to tell you that this is a very bad lens. I can vouch that it is NOT. Secondhand prices of mint 160's are generally lower than those of used 150's, for the simple reason that the 150 has a kind of mythical status. Buy the 160, use it and enjoy the pictures you make with it.

By the way, the internal coating of the 160 is the same as used in the CFi and CFe lenses and thus better than the kind used in the CF lenses.

I agree with Frank.

I have used the 160 CB for many years now. It is a superb and well made lens, fully up to Hasselblad/Zeiss standards. You will not miss your 150 CF unless you often shoot wide open at f/4. In fact, I think you will enjoy the superior ergonomics, both because of the newer barrel design and focusing grip which is a bit more offset from the front of the camera body. This lens is of such high performance that Zeiss's own Dr. Kornelius Fleischer (who is a photo.net hero) now has the 160 CB in his own pantheon of lenses.

Here is what the Dr. said in a January 22, 2002 post on the 160 CB:

"Now, here is an authentic comment from Zeiss: