8mm documentary videos

hudsonphotos

I am a wedding still photographer, have never been to this video

forum before, and couldn't find any answers using the "search"

function. Please forgive me in advance if this quesiton has been

asked a million times already and please direct me to the right

place for help.

I am wanting to make vintage looking black & white videos of events.

I would like to use an old 8mm movie camera. I see a lot of them on

ebay.com My quesiton is: can you still buy 8mm film for this, and if

so where? Do I need to buy and learn how to do my own editing? Or if

I don't want to do any editing - what do I do after I record the

film? Transfer it to VHS or DVD? How can I watch a 8mm movie?

All help apprecaited!!!

Jason Hudson

hudsonphotos.com

I used to shoot Super-8 film. But I assume you want Standard-8? Standard-8 is the original 8mm format. The sprocket holes were large and the frame was small. It was actually double-sprocketed 16mm film.

It came in 25 foot lengths on a little spool. You threaded the film through the gate onto a take-up spool. You shot 25', then reversed the spools and took another 25'. The lab would process the film, then cut it down the middle longways and cement them together to form a 50' length.

Super-8 is 8mm wide from the start with smaller sprocket holes allowing a bigger frame and comes in 50' lengths, packaged in a cartridge. You loaded the cartridge, shot, took it out and sent it off. No threading needed.

Okay... I assume you're doing sound sync in post production? Good idea! Oh, and you could edit the film but why risk damaging it? Transfer it to a MJPEG or, if you prefer, a non-compressed, broadcast quality format. Though it would be easier to just get it transferred to MiniDV, a MJPEG format at near-broadcast resolution (though it is compressed).

Then edit in your computer.