Digital cameras suited to my usage?

Hello,

I am a documentary/editorial photographer who often works on 'arts' projects so

although I need the camera to be fast, I also need it to be good enough quality to

print up to a metre or two for exhibitons. I looked at the Nikon D100 but the 'H'

version seemed to be too slow (at high res) and the press version of the D100 (I've

forgotten the prefix) was faster but not good enough quality for big prints. I am I

wrong to come to this conclusion? or Is there another digital camera out there that

would suit my purposes?

I think that right now the only tw oreal choices for you in a 35mm SLR like digital

camera are going to be the Kodak 14n (which makes a "noisy signal at high ISO

settings) or the Canon EOS 1Ds, The Kodak 14n (at $4800) is approx. 3 times the

price of a

D100 / EOS 10D class of camera and the Canon EOS1Ds (at $$8000) is approximately

5.3 times

the price of a D100 / EOS 10D class of camera. And if you do a lot of field work you

won't be buying just body, you will be buying two, or at least two: nothing is worse

than having a camera crap out out on you with no backup readily available.<P>To get

the quality you are looking for you are loooking for, and at a reasonable price, you

might want to continue using film and getting a Nikon Coolscan 4000ppi scanner or

possibly the new minolta 5400ppi scanner. While the Canon FS4000 (another 4000ppi

scanner) is also very good, it lacks a fast scanner-to-computer connection and at full

resolution that will really be a huge time suck.

<i>"I am a documentary/editorial photographer who often works on 'arts' projects... be good enough quality to print up to a metre or two for exhibitons."</i><p><p>

Digital camera, yes, as Ellis has already pointed out...<p>

<p>