Pentax 50mm lens questin

el baroda

Hi,

I am new to the Pentax forum. I own both an M and an A version of the

50mm f/1.7. The M version is in perfect mechanical condition but it

has a ring of fungus on the rear element. Despite this, the photos it

takes are quite sharp. On the other hand, the A version is perfect

optically, no fungus, but the aperture ring is in bad shape. It is

very hard to turn and the aperture does not close down beyond f/8.

Your comments or suggestions on the following will be highly

appreciated:

1. Should I have the M lens cleaned of the fungus, or should I have

the aperture ring or blades of the A lens fixed? Which is the better

option as far as recurrence of the problem is concerned?

2. Or should I keep them as they are and save up for an f/1.4? Which

is better the better version - M or A?

Thanks a lot.

It's too bad but it will probably cost more to repair one of the lenses then it would to replace it.<p>Your idea of "<I>should I keep them as they are and save up for an f/1.4?</i>" is the one I'd have suggested.<p>And finally; Here is the addresses of two good sites; The

<a href="http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-post-reply-form">Pentax Forum</a> and <a href="http://digilander.libero.it/aohc/selartice.htm">AOHC Website</a>...perhaps they can help you with Pentax specific questions.

Hello El.

First of all, fungi produce spores, spores drift in the air. I would highly suggest getting that lens away from your other equipment before it too becomes contaminated. You might also want to drop a silica packet or two in your bag to remove some of the moisture. I would put the lens somewhere where it can get some direct sunlight (not too hot mind you) so that the UV light will kill the organism