Buying a Deardorff 8x10 and 8x10 scanning?

scott_squires

I have been using a 4x5 for 6 years and have decided to give 8x10 a

try. I am interested in buying a nice Deardorff 8x10 and want to know

if there is anything important that I need to know, like the year,

model etc. I do want front swing.

I also use an Epson 2450 to scan my 4x5's. It does a great job but

cannot do 8x10. Is there a flatbed scanner that can do 8x10?

Thanks

Scott Squires

http://www.scottsquires.com/

HI Scott, I use both equipment and have been quite happy with the results. One thing about the Deardorff is to look out for is separating bed, which is a major effort to repair. Bellows can be fairly easy to replace. All in all a fine camera. The front swing comes handy for my use. I scanned my negatives for proofs on an older Microtek scanner with a transparency adapter. The optical resolution is 600 lpi, somewhat low by today's standards, but have found that for the 8x10 negs they do quite well. Good enough for proofs and in turn used to evaluate how you want to adjust for the final print in Photoshop. Good luck, Henry.

The Epson 1600 series scanners will do 8 x 10 and scan at 1600 ppi. There are similar scanners made by other manufacturers. But make sure what you get can handle transparencies. They all seem to cost $1000 or more. It is possible you may be satisifed with a scanner with a maximum scan resolution of 600 ppi, but in my experience, you want as much overkill in your scanner as you can afford.

As you already know, there doesn't appear to be any way to adapt the 2450 for larger scans except scanning in to sections and trying to stitch in a photoeditor.

Hi, Scott,

I'm just curious, why do you want to scan your 8x10s? Do you intend to do 8x10 with a (1/2) digital darkroom?

Personally I only scan up to 4x5 (Epson 3200), and only contact print or Polaroid the 8x10.

You can get a scan from the 8x10 print that is good enough for internet posting.

CXC