Does this photo software even exist? ...

I'm a woodworker and I've got an idea for a piece that's gonna take some kind of photo mosaic software.  Thing is, most of the software I've found so far keeps input photos in their original top up orientation, and I need the software to feel free to rotate the input pictures in the final mosaic.

Here's my idea.  I'll be cutting LOTS of wood squares out about 1"x1", baking them in the over at varying times/temps so they have different hues, taking a picture of each one, labeling the blocks on the back to keep track of them, and then load the pics into some mosaic software to create a large picture.  If the software were to allow the input pictures to be rotated in the final mosaic, not only could you not tell as these are pictures of wood blocks, but the end picture will end up looking better for it.

Thanks for the help.

'If the end of the world ever comes move to Kentucky, because everything there happens 20 years later.' ~ Mark Twain

I think @paddler4's suggestion is worth considering. But perhaps you're overcomplicating a (technical) solution for what you want to achieve. You're a woodworker and you want to create a mosaic of 1" blocks of different hues.

So what's stopping you from (physically) creating one or more mosaics and photographing/editing them? Why do you need need to photograph each 1" block and combine these photos into a mosaic? IMHO the skill level, learning curve and amount of to implement @paddler4's suggestion is huge, considering that you're primarily a woodworker.

My suggestion : do what you do best (woodworking), assemble one or more  physical) mosaics. Get a photographer to photograph your mosaics in the best light. Edit or expand these photos as you wish.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

I definitely appreciate all the advice gents.  Looking back at my original post I now realize I got too caught up with this idea of picture rotation and missed the opportunity to ask my question more succinctly.