Considering Canon 430EX III RT

alissa_volbeda

<p>I am not an expert, but just starting to learn and I want to add a speedlight to my kit, but I don't know where to start. <br>

I have a Canon 6D and was suggested the Canon 430eX III RT. That speedlight seems good from what I've read, but I'm not for sure. Additionally, I have no idea what I would need to to be able to use it off camera. I'm looking for any suggestions at reasonable prices.<br>

Questions:<br>

How do I attached the flash to a stand?<br>

Do I need a transmitter or anything to connect with the flash?<br>

If I want to go for a 2 flash system how do they interact?</p>

Does the flash need any extra battery pack?

<p>I'd like a soft box, but is there anything comparable or better?<br>

If I were to use a oft box how to I connect the flash to the stand to the box?</p>

<p>Looking for recommendations on light stands, soft boxes, umbrellas, transmitter, flash mount, or anything else I need.<br>

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated!</p>

<p>- They sell small brackets that you can use to attach a flash to a stand. Some are simple and inexpensive. Some are not. (Example: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/98613-REG/Cool_Lux_MD5300_MD_5300_Adjustable_Light_and.html)</p>

<p>- If you mount the flash unit on the camera's hot shoe it automatically connects to the camera. If you mount it off camera nearby (as on a flash bracket attached to the camera) you could use a sync cord. If you place the flash off camera at a distance (as on a light stand) you will need something to trigger it. There are many options available.</p>

<p>- I'm pretty sure that the 430EX III RT mounted on your camera can be used to control other compatible flash units placed at a distance.</p>

<p>- For most people, extra battery packs are generally not necessary. But it depends on how you plan to use your setup. </p>