Suggestion on lens

karthick_ganapathy

Hi all,

I own a Eos 400 d with the kit lens and i am planning to add two more lenses and a flash.A prime lens and a

medium telephoto lens.

I am not a professional and i am a hobbyist. I am thinking of buying either of 85 mm 1.8 and 50 mm 1.8 prime

lens and a 55-250 mm IS.

I am not clear if my choice is right..please suggest me..

Check this link for the kinda pics that i have been taking http://picasaweb.google.com/photosbygk and suggest me

based on my pics..

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

GK

Dear GK,

Nice shooting!

The lenses you name are ranging from excellent (85/1.8) to good (50/1.8) to nice (55-250 IS).

Whether they are what you need depends on a number of issues:

1. What's your budget?

2. What do you miss most? (quality? range? macro? sturdiness?)

You say you need a prime and a medium telephoto.

I'd guess the prime is for lowlight work.

If you do lowlight what focal length would you want?

Nice options are: Sigma 30/1.4, Canon 50/1.8 (very cheap), Canon 85/1.8 or Canon 100/2 (both very good)

Medium telephoto's have a number of choices, I'll just name the Canons:

55-250 IS, pretty good, very affordable, 70-300 IS, good midpriced, 4 different 70-200's with high IQ, F4 or F2.8 and with or without IS ranging from $ 600 to $ 1700.

If I were you (and did not want to spend too much) I'd go for the 55-250 and the 50/1.8.

Kind regards, Matthijs.

Hi Karthick,

I would suggest you to buy only one 50-1.8 at first ( or any other prime-fixed focal). This would change your thinking about the optics. You will difinetly experience better with the primes and after using that you will be able to think in right direction that what you realy need next.