home studio to store front studio

<p>Hello all! I have owned and operated a portrait studio from my home for about 5 years now. I specialize in babies and kids. I get the occasional family, maternity and senior portraits. My clients are very loyal and I am constantly gaining new ones. But in a way I'm feeling like I kind of reached a plateau, creatively and income wise. I have very limited space in my studio. I'm feeling like I need to charge way more. In your experience, what was it like going from a home studio to a downtown, store front studio? I have so many ideas but can't possibly do them from home because space is an issue. I know I will need to get a loan because I don't have the money for startup costs. What are the differences between working from home and owning a store front as far as licensing, insurance etc? Any advice would be great! Thanks!</p>

<p>I have no experience with either a home studio or store front studio, however I know a very successful photographer in Northeast United States. His photographs have been used by Newsweek, Time, New York Times, Stern, Discover, USA Today, Nature, The Guardian ... his studio is the kitchen of his home. He does not have a downtown store front studio although his home is downtown. For me this says a great deal - to be successful and internationally known, you do not need a store front studio ... especially all the expenses of such a location. You have to be creative, consistent, and dependable. I suggest that you advertise your willingness and ability to go to people's home to photograph their children and babies - place where the children and parents feel comfortable and secure - locations which have more emotional attachment and significance to your clients.</p>